Skip to content

Cub Scouts Badges

The Cub Scout Award Scheme has three parts: the Boomerang Scheme, the Achievement Badge Scheme and the Grey Wolf Award.

The Boomerang Scheme

Cubs Boomerang Awards

The Boomerang Scheme is the major part of Cub Scout training and is the method that helps to achieve self-responsibility, outdoor Scouting, aims and principles, awareness, values, creativity and world awareness.

There are three Boomerang levels: Bronze, Silver and Gold.

The 14 tasks that need to be completed with the first seven being compulsory are:

  • 1. Health and First Aid (Responsibility for Self)
  • 2. Safety (Responsibility for Self)
  • 3. Ropes (Outdoor Scouting)
  • 4. Outdoor Scouting (Outdoor Scouting)
  • 5. Our Cub Scout Traditions (Scouting Aims and Principles).
  • 6. Symbols of Australia (Growing Awareness of Local Community)
  • 7. Promise and Law (Values of Scouting)
  • 8. Fitness (Pursuits and Interests & Responsibility for Self)
  • 9. People and Cultures (Growing Awareness of Wider World)
  • 10. Scientific Discovery (The World Around Us)
  • 11. The Natural Environment (The World Around Us)
  • 12. Self Expression (Creativity)
  • 13. Handcraft (Creativity)
  • 14. Your Community (Growing Awareness of Local Community)

Achievement badges

Achievement badges give you the opportunity to concentrate on your areas of interest.  There are 34 badges to choose from.  Each badge has two levels and the Cub chooses which level they would like to achieve.

Cubs Achievement Awards

Special Interest Badges

As well as the Achievement Badges, one can earn a number of special interest badges. You will need one of these for your Grey Wolf Award. These badges are:

  • Landcare Badge
  • Local History Badge
  • Waterwise Badge
  • Their Service – Our heritage
  • Faith Awareness
  • World Conservation Badge
  • Language Emblem
  • Cub Scout Leadership Course
  • Grey Wolf Award

Cubs Special Interest Awards

Grey Wolf Award

This is the pinnacle of the Cub Scout Section. The requirements for earning the Grey Wolf Award are:

  • 1. Gold Boomerang Badge.
  • 2. Have participated in a minimum of four outdoor activities in the past 12 months.
    (a) One of which must be an overnight camp.
    (b) One should be an interpack activity.
    (c) Using a map, plan and lead a bushwalk of at least two hours duration with your leader and a group of Cub Scouts (3-6 youth members).
  • 3. In the past 12 months have attended two Pack Councils.
  • 4. Have completed four Level Two Achievement Badges (one from each category) and have completed one Special Interest Badge.
  • 5. Develop and present a resource for your Six or Pack based on your understanding of the Jungle Books. Suggestions: A game (active, board or card); skit/play, puppets or a booklet; a shoebox diorama.

Cubs Record Book

Cub Scout Record Book

  • Covers Award Scheme for all Cub Scouts
  • Cost $9.95
  • Available at Scout Shop

Pamphlett Uniform Badges

  • World Scouting Emblem
  • Scouts Australia Badge
  • John Oxley District Badge
  • Pamphlett Sea Scouts Group Badge

Cubs Participation Awards

Scout Link Badge

The Scout Link Badge links the Cub to the next step in their journey, the Scout Section. The Scout Leader and a Patrol Leader from the Scout Section jointly carry out the training and testing for this badge.

There are eight requirements for this badge. Arrangements and details about linking Cub Scouts usually occurs through the Cub Scout Leader at Group Council and by the Cub Scout making contact with the Scout Leader.